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__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Application for Iowa Commercial Pesticide Applicator License 

Iowa Department of Agriculture and Office Use Only Licensing Year 

Land Stewardship (IDALS) Insurance License Mailed 

Pesticide Bureau – Wallace Building – 502 East Ninth 
Street - Des Moines, IA 50319-0051 

PHONE  515-281-5601 FAX  515-242-6497 

WEBSITE 
http://www.iowaagriculture.gov/pesticides.asp 

If you are an aerial applicator, you are required to 
use Form #009-403-AA “Application for Iowa 
Commercial Aerial Pesticide Applicator License.” 

Check our website for testing opportunities near you as well as 
for laws, forms, databases, links, etc. 

Please Type or Print All of the Following Information 

Business Name 

Business Owner 

Person Responsible for 
Business Operation 

Business Phone 

Business Fax 

Business E-mail 

Check One 

Check License 
Type 

Commercial applicators 
Noncommercial applicators 

Public Officials 

Site Address - - Street, city, zip + 4 digits 

Corporation Partnership Sole Proprietorship Individual Public Agency 

 Commercial ($25)  Public Official ($0) 
 Noncommercial ($25)  Golf Course ($0)  Handler Only ($0) 

County of Site Address: 

Mailing Address, if different than above. 
Street, box, city, zip + 4 digits 

Apply pesticides for hire to property other than their own. 
Apply restricted use pesticides (RUPs) on property owned, rented, leased or controlled by 
the applicator or applicator’s employer. 
Apply pesticides as part of their duties as employees of a state agency, county, municipal 
corporation or other government agency. 

This is my application for an Iowa commercial pesticide applicators license, and I declare all information on the front and 
back of this form plus any additional information I have included is true and correct. I understand that certification and 
financial requirements must also be met before my commercial pesticide applicators license is valid.   

Applicant’s Signature Applicator’s name PRINTED Date 

THE FRONT AND BACK OF THIS FORM MUST BE COMPLETE AND LEGIBLE AND ALL REQUIRED DOCUMENTS 
SUBMITTED WITH IT OR YOUR APPLICATION MAY BE RETURNED. 

Form 009-0403  Val 64  $25 
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THE FRONT AND BACK OF THIS FORM MUST BE COMPLETE AND LEGIBLE AND ALL REQUIRED DOCUMENTS 
SUBMITTED WITH IT OR YOUR APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED. 

List all pesticide applicators you employ with their certification and social security numbers. List new employees 
you intend to certify and write their initial date of employment in the box labeled Certification Number. If you have 
more employees than space allows, add a separate page and use the same format. 

There is a 21-day grace period from the day of initial employment to meet certification requirements. During the 21-
days, the employee must operate under the direct supervision of a certified applicator who is in sight and hearing 
distance. See 45.22.12 IAC. 

Any change in employee status must be reported immediately to the pesticide bureau. 
Update must be in writing.  Fax, e-mail, or mail accepted. See 45.22(9) IAC 

Certification Number Individual’s Full Legal Name Social Security Number 

ARE YOU LEGAL TO APPLY?  A pesticide license is not valid without a certified applicator. A certified 
applicator cannot apply pesticides unless licensed. Nothing is valid until all fees are current. 

To operate illegally may result in civil penalty which may be assessed at $500 per violation. Each 
day a commercial applicator is in violation following receipt of written notification of such violation 
from the department may be considered a separate violation.   See 45.102(5) IAC) 

License + certified applicator + financial proof + containment status report + all fees paid = legal to apply 

DO YOU NEED A DEALER LICENSE TOO? Yes, if you distribute or apply any restricted use pesticide (RUP) or 
more than $10,000 of pesticides labeled for agricultural and/or lawn and garden.  Each business location is required 
to be licensed. See 206.8 Iowa Code and 21—45.26 IAC 

YOU MUST KEEP RECORDS. See 21--45.26(206) IAC. 

BE AWARE OF THE FOLLOWING.  IT MAY APPLY TO YOU! 
ATRAZINE MANAGEMENT .  See Chapter 45.51 IAC. CONTAINMENT RULES.  See Chapter 44 IAC. 
BEE RULE.  See Chapter 45.31 IAC. NOTIFICATION. See 45.50 IAC. 

LAW  Chapter 206 Iowa Code RULES Title 21 Chapters 44 and 45 Iowa Administrative Code (IAC) 

Http://www.iowaagriculture.gov/pesticides.asp 

Http://www.iowaagriculture.gov/pesticides.asp
http:21�45.26
http:45.22.12
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