# APPLICATION FOR DEAD ANIMAL DISPOSAL/DEAD ANIMAL TRANSPORTER LICENSE

Iowa Department of Agriculture & Land Stewardship Wallace State Office Building, 2<sup>nd</sup> Floor 502 East 9<sup>th</sup> Street Des Moines, Iowa 50319 Bureau of Animal Industry (515) 281-8601 (515) 281-5547

## ALL SPACES MUST BE COMPLETELY FILLED IN

I hereby make application for license to engage in the business of disposing of the bodies of dead animals in accordance with provisions of Chapter 167, Code of Iowa and Iowa Administrative Rules, 21-61, Dead Animal Disposal. A nonrefundable fee of \$200.00 (\$100.00 application fee + \$100.00 license fee) Dead Animal Transporter <u>only</u> (\$100.00 application fee + \$50.00 license fee) check or money order made payable to IDALS (Iowa Department of Agriculture & Land Stewardship) must accompany application. This is good for the time period commencing January 1, ending December 31.

Name of Business:			
Owner(s) Name:			
Address:			
City:	State:		Zip Code:
SS# or Federal ID#:T	elephone:		County:
Mailing Address (if different from above):		E-Mail:	
Address:			
City:			
If Yes, please state the circumstances of			
Company Owned Vehicles:			
Description & Number of Disposal Vehicles Semi-trailer(s) Single-Axle Truck(		Truck(s) of	ner (specify):
Semi duner(s) Single Axie Huek		11 <b>ue</b> k(5), 0ti	(speeny)
Independently Owned Vehicles:			
Description & Number of Disposal Vehicle			
Semi-trailer(s) Single-Axle Truck(	(s)	Truck(s), oth	ner (specify):
If an independent transporter, what compan	y are you	transporting f	For? (Complete Name & Address):

## The information provided on this application is true and accurate under penalty of law.

#### **IOWA CODE CHAPTER 167**

### PROVIDES FOR THE LICENSING & REGULATION OF RENDERING FACILITIES & DROP-OFF STATIONS

**167.2** Disposal of dead animals. No person shall engage in the business of disposing of the bodies of dead animals without first obtaining a license for that purpose from the department.

**167.4 Application for license.** Application for such license shall be made to the department on forms provided by it, which application shall set forth the name and residence of the applicant, the proposed place of business and the particular method which the applicant intends to employ in disposing of such dead bodies, and such other information as the department may require. Said application shall be accompanied by a fee of one hundred dollars.

**167.5 Inspection of place.** On receipt of such application, the secretary of agriculture or some person appointed by the secretary, shall at once inspect the building in which the applicant proposes to conduct such business. If the inspector finds that said building complies with the requirements of this chapter, and with the rules of the department, and that the applicant is a responsible and suitable person, the inspector shall so certify in writing to such specific findings, and forward the same to the department.

**167.6 License.** On the receipt of the foregoing certificate, and the additional payment of one hundred dollars, the department shall issue a license to the applicant to conduct such business, at the place specified in the application, for one calendar year, but the department shall not issue license for disposal plant not located within the boundaries of the state of Iowa.

**167.10 Renewal of license.** An original license shall be renewed for each subsequent calendar year on the payment of one hundred dollars, provided the holder, in the opinion of the department, remains responsible and suitable to carry on said business, and the place of business continues to comply with this chapter and the rules of the department, as they then exist.

**167.15** Transportation of dead animals. Any person holding a license under the provisions of this chapter may haul and transport the carcasses of animals that have died from disease, except those prohibited by the department, in a covered conveyance, the bed, box, tank, or other type of container of which must be covered and watertight, and is so constructed that no drippings or seepings from such carcasses can escape from such bed, box, tank or other type of container, and said carcasses shall not be moved from said bed, box, tank or other type of container except at the place of final disposal or at a place maintained for the purpose of transferring said carcasses from one conveyance to another, such transfer place being subject to all provisions of this chapter relative to licensing, inspection, and sanitation of disposal places. The department may prescribe additional requirements governing the construction and operation of such vehicles, transfer places and such transportation not inconsistent with the above.

**167.18** ... The violation of any of the provisions of this chapter or any rule adopted thereunder by the department shall be a simple misdemeanor. (The penalty for a simple misdemeanor is subject to: Up to \$500 fine, and/or 30 days in jail, and court costs for each violation.)

### IOWA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE CHAPTER 21-61 PROVIDES THE ADMINISTRATIVE RULES PROMULGATED PURSUANT TO THE CODE.

**21-61.1(167)** Conveyances requirements. Conveyances for transporting carcasses of animals must be provided with watertight bed or tank not less than 24 inches in depth; all metal or metal-lined and watertight at least 4 inches above the general level of the bottom of box or bed; endgate to be of metal or metal-lined, hinged at the bottom of box or bed and fastened firmly at top when closed; endgate to be provided with an effect on the inside to fit snugly over the end of the bed.

**21-61.16(167) Disposal plant trucks.** All trucks used for transporting carcasses of dead animals on the highways must be owned and operated by a licensed disposal plant, except as provided for in 64.104(167). The name and address and license number of the plant shall be painted on both sides of the truck in letters not less than four inches high and in a color in definite contrast to the body color of the truck.

**21-61.17(167) Disposal employees.** In cases where licensed disposal plants have employees operating trucks in other cities or towns, they must operate under the name of the licensed disposal plant by which they are employed, and this applies to all advertisements and listings.

**21-61.18(167) Tarpaulins.** No disposal plant truck shall be moved on the highway without having a tarpaulin which is adequate to cover the bed of the truck and anything contained therein. If any carcass is contained in the truck or the truck has not been thoroughly cleaned, such tarpaulin must be in place covering the bed of the truck and its contents. Such tarpaulin must have no holes through which flies can pass.

**21-61.19(167) Disposal vehicles-disinfection.** Whenever a vehicle or person in charge thereof has been upon any premises for the purpose of removing the carcass of any animal, or where animals are dead or dying, before such vehicle can be taken upon a public highway or upon other premises and before leaving the premises of the rendering plant on each trip the wheels of such vehicles and shoes or boots of all persons having been upon such infected premises shall be disinfected thoroughly with any disinfectant of prescribed strength recommended by the division of animal industry as a disinfectant, preferably creosol compound, three percent, or by a 1-1000 solution of bichloride of mercury. Facilities and materials for disinfection shall be carried on truck at all times.