



Animal Food Requirements Guide

The Commercial Feed and Fertilizer Bureau administers the Iowa Commercial Feed Law. The bureau regulates the manufacturing and the distribution of all Commercial Feed in Iowa. Commercial feed includes pet and specialty pet food, including treats.

State Requirements

Who is required to be licensed?

- Any person who manufactures
- Any person who distributes
- Any person is the label guarantor

Who is exempt?

- Person who only does retail sales
- Small Package Pet Food Label Registration
 - Small package is 10lbs or less
 - $\circ~$ Pet and specialty pet foods
 - Is a \$50 fee per product
 - Products based on recipe
 - Can be multiple shapes and sizes under one product if recipe is the same
 - Labels need to be fully compliant
 - Registered products exempt from tonnage report
 - Annual registration due January 1st
 - Can apply and pay online

Federal Requirements

- If your facility manufactures, processes, packs, or holds food for animals in the United States you are required to register your business as a food facility with the US Food & Drug Administration (FDA). Unless you meet an exemption.
- You can find more information here: <u>https://www.fda.gov/media/85043/download</u>
- Facilities that are required to register as a food facility with FDA are subject to all applicable parts of 21 CFR 507 Subparts A, B, C, D, E, & F
- Unless you meet the definition of a qualified facility and file an attestation with FDA
- For more information: https://www.fda.gov/media/125438/download

Commercial Feed Dealers License

- \$20 fee
- Expires June 30th of odd numbered years
- Can apply, pay, and print license online

Tonnage Report and Inspection Fees

- Tonnage is the quantity of commodities
- Inspection Fee is the Fee collected based on the distribution of commercial feed
- First to sell or distribute commercial feed in or into the state is responsible
 - Exemption if the second person is on Iowa's exempt list, then they are responsible for the fee payment
- Large package Pet Foods need to be reported
- More information to help decide what to report: <u>https://iowaagriculture.gov/commercial-feed-and-fertilizer-bureau/commercial-feed</u>
- Due every 6 months February 15 and August 15
- Can apply and pay online

Other Regulations that may apply:

- 21 CFR 225 If you manufacture medicated feed requiring a feed mill license with FDA
- 21 CFR 225.120 225.202 If you manufacture medicated feed not requiring a feed mill license with FDA
- 21 CFR 589.2000 & 589.2001 If you handle ingredients that are prohibited in ruminant feeds
- 21 CFR 558.6 If you handle medicated feeds requiring a veterinary feed directive drug

Contact Information

Alan Keller, Bureau Chief alan.keller@iowaagriculture.gov 515-281-6338 Iowa's Online Portal https://iowadeptag.force.com/