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Application for Temporary In-State Practice Permit Pending Examination to Practice 
Veterinary Medicine 
 
 
169.11 Temporary permit. The board may issue without examination a temporary permit 
to practice veterinary medicine in this state: 1. To a qualified applicant for license pending 
examination and the temporary permit shall expire the day after the notice of results of 
the first examination given after the permit is issued. The temporary permit holder should 
keep the secretary continually advised of the permit holder’s current address. 
 
 
INSTRUCTIONS: Complete this application and include the following: 

• Completed application and fees (one check $50.00) (application fee $15.00 and 

licensure fee $35.00) payable to the Iowa Board of Veterinary Medicine. No 

refunds.  

o Fees must accompany submitted application 

• Copy of professional diploma or official transcript (DVM degree conferred) verifying 

graduation from an AVMA Accredited Veterinary College or AVMA-Listed 

Veterinary Colleges of the World  

o The official transcript must be sent directly from the college for it to be 

considered official 

• Certified ECFVG Certificate or PAVE Certificate (if applicable) 

o Must come from the American Veterinary Medical Association or American 

Association of Veterinary State Boards  

The filing of this application does not grant any special privileges to open an office or 
conduct any method of treating animals in the State of Iowa. 
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Make check payable to the Iowa Board of Veterinary Medicine in the amount of $50.   Mail 
application and fees to the Iowa Board of Veterinary Medicine, Wallace State Office 
Building, 502 E. 9th Street, Des Moines, Iowa 50319 

Please type or print legibly 

First Name Middle Name Last Name 

Street Address   City State Zip Code 

Are you Active Military Personnel?   Yes ____ No ____ 

Education 

Name and Location of Institute 
Attended 

From  To 

Have you ever been convicted of a felony? If so, provide details (use additional paper if 
necessary). 

 

 

Employment (provide information where currently employed) 
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Date(s) sat for past NAVLE examination(s):_________________________________________ 
 
 
Sitting date(s) of future NAVLE examinations:  _______________________________________ 
 
 

 
I certify and state that, prior to the date of this application, I have not illegally practiced 
veterinary medicine in Iowa. I agree, should a certificate be granted to me by the Iowa 
Board of Veterinary Medicine, that I will comply with the laws, rules, and regulations 
pertaining to the Practice of Veterinary Medicine in Iowa.  
 
 
 

I certify that the foregoing information is true and correct 
 

 
______________________________________________________________________ 
Signature                  Date 
 
 
______________________________________________________________________ 
Phone number      Social Security Number 
 
 
______________________________________________________________________ 
Date of Birth               Email address 
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Beginning January 1, 2021, you may be eligible to apply for a fee waiver if you meet the 
following requirements. This fee waiver will only affect the license/registration fee and 
does not apply to renewals. : 

1) An applicant for initial licensure is eligible for a waiver of initial licensing fees if 

the applicant's household income does not exceed 200% of the federal poverty 

income guidelines and the applicant is applying for a license/registration for the 

first time.  

2) To determine eligibility, you must first identify the number of individuals in your 

household. Once this is determined, reference the Federal Poverty Level and 

identify the income that matches the number of individuals in your household. If 

your household income, as reported on your most recent federal tax return, is 

less than the identified value, you are eligible for the one-time fee waiver.  

If you are eligible, please answer the following questions: 
1) Do you wish to apply for a fee waiver?  (Yes/No) 

2) Is your adjusted gross household income less than 200% of the Federal Poverty 

Level? (Yes/No) 

3) Are you applying for this license/registration type for the first time? (Yes/No) 

If all three of your answers above are “yes”, see below:  
1) I attest that my household income does not exceed 200% of the federal poverty 
income guidelines and agree to submit documentation of one of the following to verify 
my household income:  
 
2) Most recently filed and signed copy of the Individual Federal Tax Return.  
 
3) If you are married and filed separately, you will need to submit the Federal Tax 
Return for both your spouse and yourself. (Most recently filed and signed copy).  
 
4) If you were claimed as a dependent on another person’s tax return, you will need to 
submit the Federal Tax Return for the tax filer who claimed you as a dependent. (Most 
recently filed and signed copy).  
 
5) Or other that you wish to include. 
 

 
___________________________________  
Signature 
 
Please upload/attach requisite documents.  
 

https://www.healthcare.gov/income-and-household-information/household-size/
https://www.medicaidplanningassistance.org/federal-poverty-guidelines/
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