
1 Temporary Educational Permit for Internship or Residency

Application for Temporary Educational Permit for Internship or Residency Training 
Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine  

As stated in Iowa Administrative Rules Rule 811-9.1(1) Temporary educational permit. For the 
purpose of this subrule, “qualified applicant” means a person who is undertaking internship or 
residency training at Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine. A temporary 
educational permit may be issued upon application to a qualified applicant who does not also 
seek an Iowa veterinary license. A temporary educational permit allows the permit holder to act 
as a licensed veterinarian, including for privately owned animals, but only within the scope of the 
permit holder’s internship or residency program at Iowa State University College of Veterinary 
Medicine. Verification of internship or residency shall consist of an endorsement signed by the 
dean of the school and submitted directly to the board by the school. A temporary educational 
permit expires upon termination of the permit holder’s internship or residency program, as 
reported by the dean of the school of veterinary medicine. An initial temporary educational 
permit may be issued by the board for a term of up to two years. An initial temporary educational 
permit may be renewed by the board for a term of up to one year. No more than two renewals 
will be granted to the same person. 

Temporary Permit Fee:  $35  Temporary Permit Application Fee:  $15 

Make check payable to the Iowa Board of Veterinary Medicine in the amount of $50.   
Mail application and fees to the Iowa Board of Veterinary Medicine, Hoover Building, 1305 E. 
Walnut St., Des Moines, Iowa 50319

Please type or print legibly 

First Name Middle Name Last Name 

State Zip Code 

No  

Street Address   City 

Are you Active Military Personnel?   Yes  

Education 

Name and Location of Institute 
Attended 

 From   To 

07/21/2025
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Please check the  training program in which you are enrolled.    Internship              Residency 

Beginning Date of Term ______________________   Ending Date of Term ________________________ 

I certify and state that, prior to the date of this application, I have not illegally practiced veterinary 
medicine in Iowa. I agree, should a certificate be granted to me by the Iowa Board of Veterinary 
Medicine, that I will comply with the laws, rules, and regulations pertaining to the Practice of 
Veterinary Medicine in Iowa.  

I certify that the foregoing information is true and correct 

___________________________________  ___________________________________ 
Signature of Intern or Resident   Date 

__________________________________  ___________________________________ 
Phone number   Email address  

Signature of Veterinary College Official  Date 



3 

Beginning January 1, 2021, you may be eligible to apply for a fee waiver if you meet the 
following requirements. This fee waiver will only affect the license/registration fee and 
does not apply to renewals. : 

1) An applicant for initial licensure is eligible for a waiver of initial licensing fees if the
applicant's household income does not exceed 200% of the federal poverty income

guidelines and the applicant is applying for a license/registration for the first time.

2) To determine eligibility, you must first identify the number of individuals in your
household. Once this is determined, reference the Federal Poverty Level and identify
the income that matches the number of individuals in your household. If your
household income, as reported on your most recent federal tax return, is less than

the identified value, you are eligible for the one-time fee waiver.

If you are eligible, please answer the following questions: 
1) Do you wish to apply for a fee waiver?        Yes       No

2) Is your adjusted gross household income less than 200% of the Federal Poverty

Level?        Yes       No

3) Are you applying for this license/registration type for the first time?        Yes       No

  If all three of your answers above are “yes”, see below: 
1) I attest that my household income does not exceed 200% of the federal poverty

income guidelines and agree to submit documentation of one of the following to

verify my household income:

a. Most recently filed and signed copy of the Individual Federal Tax Return.

b. If you are married and filed separately, you will need to submit the Federal Tax

Return for both your spouse and yourself. (Most recently filed and signed copy).

c. If you were claimed as a dependent on another person’s tax return, you will need

to submit the Federal Tax Return for the tax filer who claimed you as a

dependent.  (Most recently filed and signed copy).

d. Or other that you wish to include.

___________________________________ 
Signature 

Please upload/attach requisite documents. 

https://www.healthcare.gov/income-and-household-information/household-size/
https://www.medicaidplanningassistance.org/federal-poverty-guidelines/
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