
PIG DEALER AGENT LICENSE APPLICATION

A NON-REFUNDABLE FEE OF $10.00, CHECK OR MONEY ORDER MADE PAYABLE TO 
IDALS (IOWA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE & LAND STEWARDSHIP) MUST 
ACCOMPANY APPLICATION. THIS LICENSE WILL EXPIRE ON THE FIRST DAY OF 
JULY OF THE SECOND YEAR OF LICENSE.

Agent's Name: 
Agent's Address: 
City:  State: Zip Code:
Telephone:  County: Email:
Pig Dealer's Business Name:
Pig Dealer's Name:
Address:
City:  State: Zip Code: 

Which of the following swine apply to your operation: Feeder Swine  Breeding Swine 
Slaughter Swine

In what other state(s) are you licensed as a pig dealer, or an agent for a pig dealer?

Have you ever had a livestock dealer or pig dealer license or and agent's license revoked, suspended, or other 
disciplinary action taken against your license or permit?  Yes  No

If Yes, please describe:

To the best of your knowledge, has any person in your employment or affiliated with the applicant had a 
livestock dealer or pig dealer or an agent's license revoked, suspended, or any other disciplinary action taken 
against your license or permit?  Yes  No

If Yes, please describe: 

Amount of Bond $ (Proof of Bond Must Accompany Application)
Checks Payable to:         

Fee:$10/ 2-Year License

Iowa Department of Agriculture & Land Stewardship
Hoover State Office Building
1305 E Walnut Street
Des Moines, IA 50319
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Date Signature

A licensee is required to comply with the requirements of Chapter 163 and Iowa Administrative Rules 21-66

163.30  Swine imported or native—pig dealers.  
1. This section shall apply to all swine moved interstate and intrastate, except swine moved directly to slaughter or to
a livestock market for sale directly to a slaughtering establishment for immediate slaughter.
2. When used in this chapter:

a. “Dealer” means any person who is engaged in the business of buying for resale or selling, or exchanging swine as a
principal or agent or who claims to be so engaged, but does not include the owner or operator of a farm who does not
claim to be so engaged, and who sells or exchanges only those swine which have been kept by the person solely for feeding
or breeding purposes.
3. A person shall act as a dealer unless the department issues the person a dealer’s license. The fee for a dealer’s license is
ten dollars. All licenses shall expire on the first day of the second July following date of issue.  Licenses shall be numbered
and the dealer shall retain the same license number.  To be issued a license, an applicant must file a surety bond with the
department. The applicant shall file a standard surety bond of ten thousand dollars with the secretary named as trustee, for
the use and benefit of anyone damaged by a violation of this section, except that the bond shall not be required for dealers
who are bonded in the same or greater amount than required pursuant to the federal Packers and Stockyards Act. In
addition, the department may require that a licensee file evidence of financial responsibility with the department prior to a
license being issued or renewed as provided in section 202C.2
21—66.20(163) Revocation or denial of permit.  The department may revoke or refuse to issue or renew a livestock
dealer permit, a pig dealer license, or a livestock dealer agent permit or a pig dealer agent permit if the department finds
that the applicant, a person with an ownership interest in the applicant, or an individual employed by the applicant has
done any of the following:
1. Has not filed or maintained a surety bond in the form and amount as required by Iowa Code section 163.30 or
Iowa Code Supplement Chapter 202C.
2. Has violated the provisions of Iowa Code chapter 163, 163A, 164, 165, 166, 166A, 166B, or 166D or the rules
adopted pursuant to those chapters.
3. Has made false or misleading statements as to the health or physical condition or origin of livestock or feeder pigs,
or practice fraud or misrepresentation in connection with the buying or receiving of livestock or feeder pigs or the selling,
exchanging, soliciting or negotiating the sale of livestock or the weighing of livestock or feeder pigs.
4. Has failed to maintain and keep suitable animal health and movement records as required or to provide access to
the department to the records.
5. Has had a license or permit suspended or revoked or has been otherwise barred from engaging in the buying,
selling, assembling livestock or feeder pigs, or receiving livestock or feeder pigs on consignment by either the USDA or by
another state unless the department concludes after an investigation that the facts leading to the suspension or revocation
demonstrate that granting the license or permit will not create a substantial risk to the Iowa livestock or feeder pig
industry.  This paragraph shall also apply if there is a pending action to suspend or revoke a permit.
6. Has failed to comply with any lawful order of the department or a state or federal court.
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