
Animal Food Due Dates Guide 
The Commercial Feed and Fertilizer Bureau administers the Iowa Commercial Feed Law. The bureau regulates the  
manufacturing and the distribution of all Commercial Feed in Iowa. Commercial feed includes pet and specialty pet food, 
including treats. 

Commercial Feed License 
• Every Feed License expires on June 30, of odd numbered years
• The system opens renewals June 1st, of odd numbered years
• $20 Fee on company level

Small Package Pet Food 
Label Renewal 

• Labels expire annually on December 31st

• The system renewal December 1st

• $50 Fee per Product
New Labels 

• Can be entered at any time throughout the year prior to selling
• If entered in December it will count towards the following years registration
• $50 Fee per Product

o Product based on recipe not size, package weight, or shape

Feed Tonnage Report and Inspection Fee 
Period 1 January – June 

• Opens on June 1st

• Last day without late fee August 15th 

• License goes into Suspended status on August 16th until Tonnage is reported and fee paid
• $0.12 per Ton with $20 minimum
• Late Fee $50 or 10% whichever is greater

Period 2 July – December 
• Opens December 1st

• Last day without late fee February 15th

• License goes into Suspended status on February 16th until Tonnage is reported and fee paid
• $0.12 per Ton with $20 minimum
• Late Fee $50 or 10% whichever is greater

Iowa’s Online Portal 
https://iowadeptag.force.com/ 

Contact Information 
Alan Keller, Bureau Chief 
alan.keller@iowaagriculture.gov 
515-242-6338

April Schroeder, Administrative Assistant 
april.schroeder@iowaagriculture.gov 
515-281-8597


