Water Resources Coordinating Council Tuesday, November 29, 2022 Meeting Notes

Call to Order and Virtual Meeting Logistics

The meeting was called to order at 1:32 PM. Virtual meeting logistics were briefly discussed. There were a total of 22 participants in the meeting.

WRCC Agency Updates (All)

IEDA (Geerts)- In October there were 9 CDBG Water/Sewer awards made for water and sanitary sewer projects. Awards totaled \$3.3 million with \$7.7 million in match. Next round of applications is due January 1, 2023. Currently launching CDBG disaster recovery programs to provide housing and infrastructure relief for recent federal disaster declarations. Also working to continue 2019 disaster recovery housing projects in southwest lowa.

DOT (Solberg)- Limited update. Marc Solberg is new WRCC representative. DOT has completed new interstate bridges in Quad Cities and are now working to demolish old bridges. Also continuing to work on flood resiliency projects along Interstate 29 in southwest Iowa, including work to connect roads with levee improvements in Hamburg area.

USGS (Nania)- Streamflows are significantly lower than normal statewide along the Des Moines River, with closer to normal flows on border rivers. 2 PFAS studies are ongoing across the state, including a study in conjunction with University of Iowa and Iowa DNR. Studies will be published very soon. Also asking hunters to submit deer waste in order to analyze potential presence of PFAS in deer tissue.

ISU Extension (Helmers)- Scheduling ICM meetings over the winter. INREC studies will be discussed here as well as during crop advantage meetings. Iowa Learning Farms webinars and virtual field days are also ongoing and can be scheduled.

USACE (Brown)- Work ongoing on Walker wetland at Rathbun in partnership with DNR and IDALS among other agencies. Also working on some shoreline stabilization. Rathbun is about half a foot lower than normal. Not alarming yet but worth mention.

DNR (McDaniel)- Introduced Katie Greenstein as new water quality monitoring supervisor, who replaced the late Roger Bruner. First round of loan forgiveness projects under SRF is underway. Working to help buy down projects in disadvantaged communities. Also working on PFAS and lead service line projects, working to identify projects impacted by PFAS. 11 facilities identified so far looking at reduction projects. EPA will release draft MCL for PFAS later this Winter.

IDALS (Kozak)- Update is attached to meeting notes.

Abandoned Mine Land Program Overview

Vince Sitzmann, IDALS Mines and Minerals Bureau Chief, gave a presentation on the Abandoned Mine Land reclamation program hosted within IDALS. A copy of the presentation can be found on the WRCC website.

WPAC Annual Report

John Whitaker, Conservation Districts of Iowa and WPAC Chairperson, presented the annual report of the Watershed Planning Advisory Council. The report will also be presented to the Legislature. A copy of the annual report is posted on the WPAC website.

Public Comments (Please contain comment length to 3 minutes per person)

Luke Hoffmann, Iowa Rivers Revival, addressed the Council and introduced himself as the new executive director of Iowa Rivers Revival. IRR is working with DNR on toolbox training to work with practitioners and contractors on river restoration practice training.

Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 2:45 PM. The next meeting will be scheduled for late February or early March and will be held in a hybrid format with in-person attendance available at the Wallace Building.

	WRCC Representative	Position	Organization
x 1	Mike Naig	Secretary (WRCC Chair)	lowa Department of Agriculture & Land Stewardship
	-		
2	Kim Reynolds	Governor	Governor's Office
	Nate Ristow	Designee	Governor's Office
	Kaula Luon	Director	Iowa Department of Natural Recourses
x S	Kayla Lyon Adam Schneiders (Lori McDaniel)	Director	lowa Department of Natural Resources lowa Department of Natural Resources
X	Additi Semenaers (Eon Webanier)	Designee	lowa Department of Natural Resources
x 4	Susan Kozak	Director	IDALS - Division of Soil Conservation & Water Quality
x	Jake Hansen	Designee	IDALS - Division of Soil Conservation & Water Quality
5	Kelly Garcia	Director	IA Department of Public Health
	Kenneth Sharp	Designee	IA Department of Public Health
6	John Benson	Acting Director	Iowa Homeland Security & Emergency Management
Ť	Larry Giofreddi (Jim Marwedel)	Designee	lowa Homeland Security & Emergency Management
		2	, , , , ,
7	Dan Robison	Dean	College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, ISU
x	Jamie Benning (Matt Helmers)	Designee	College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, ISU
	Edition Devices	Deer	College of Dublic Health Heimeric of Long
8	Edith Parker Tom Peters	Dean	College of Public Health, University of Iowa
	Tom Peters	Designee	College of Public Health, University of Iowa
9	John Fritsch	Dean	College of Humanities, Arts and Sciences, UNI
	Maureen Clayton	Designee	College of Humanities, Arts and Sciences, UNI
10	Scott Marler	Director	lowa Department of Transportation
X	Marc Solberg	Designee	Iowa Department of Transportation
11	Debi Durham	Director	Iowa Economic Development Authority
x	Jeff Geerts	Designee	Iowa Economic Development Authority
		5	. ,
12	Debi Durham	Executive Director	Iowa Finance Authority
	Tony Toigo	Designee	Iowa Finance Authority
— 13		Deer	College of Engineering I Initiation of Louis
15	Alec Scranton Larry Weber (Kate Gianinni)	Dean Designee	College of Engineering, University of Iowa College of Engineering, University of Iowa
		Designee	concer of Engineering, oniversity of lowe
x 14	Jon Nania	Director	USGS, Iowa-Illinois Water Science Center
	Paul Rydlund	Designee	USGS, Iowa-Illinois Water Science Center
15	Jon Hubbert	State Conservationist	USDA, Natural Resources Conservation Service
	Scott Cagle	Designee	USDA, Natural Resources Conservation Service
16	Matt Russell	State Executive Director	USDA, Farm Service Agency
17	Theresa Greenfield	State Director	USDA, Rural Development
	Kate Sand	Designee	USDA, Rural Development
- 40	Mag MaCallister	Degional Administrator	FDA Degion 7
18	Meg McCollister Edward Chu (Doug Jones)	Regional Administrator	EPA-Region 7
	Lawara Cha (Doug Jones)	Designee	EPA-Region 7
19	Colonel Jesse Curry	Rock Island District Commander	US Army Corps of Engineers Rock Island District
	, Jason Smith	Designee	US Army Corps of Engineers Rock Island District
x	Philip Brown	Designee	US Army Corps of Engineers
	Jeff Zogg	Designee	National Weather Service