
 

 

 

Sept. 24, 2025 

 

Dear Iowa fuel retailer, 

The Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship has an important update to share 
regarding the E15 Access Standard going into full effect on Jan. 1, 2026. The deadline for 
Iowa fuel retailers to apply for a Safe Harbor Designation has been extended until Friday, 
Oct. 31.  

If your business has shown a good faith effort to complete infrastructure improvements to 
come into compliance with the E15 Access Standard but is at risk of not completing upgrades 
by the December 31 deadline, you can apply for Safe Harbor Designation. A Safe Harbor 
Designation gives retail fuel sites additional time to come into full compliance. For 
businesses granted a Safe Harbor Designation, the Department will exercise 
enforcement discretion at retail fuel sites until September 30, 2026. 

To apply for a Safe Harbor Designation: 

1. Download and complete an application form at iowaagriculture.gov/e15access  

AND 

2. Provide one of the following supporting documents: 

Option A: A copy of a purchase order, work order, installation 
agreement/contract, or invoice for equipment and/or infrastructure updates  

OR 

Option B: A copy of a submitted, active application for an Iowa Renewable 
Fuels Infrastructure Program (RFIP) E15 cost-share grant 

3. Submit the completed application, along with attached supporting documentation, 
via email to Mike Harrington at mike.harrington@iowaagriculture.gov by October 31, 
2025. 

Safe Harbor applications will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis, and licensees will be 
notified of their approval status within 7 to 10 business days. Fuel retailers that are 



 

approved for a Safe Harbor Designation must come into full compliance with the E15 
Access Standard by September 30, 2026. 

Non-compliant, non-exempt fuel retailers that did not apply, or were not approved, for a Safe 
Harbor designation may face enforcement actions beginning on January 2, 2026. The Iowa 
Legislature has authorized the Department to fine non-compliant, non-exempt fuel retailers 
up to $1,000 per day. If a fuel retailer is not acting in good faith to come into compliance, the 
Department may suspend or revoke the retailer’s fuel license. 

The Department encourages licensed fuel retailers to take action now to come into full 
compliance and avoid penalties.  

If you would like more information about the RFIP cost-share program, visit 
iowaagriculture.gov/irfip. If you have questions, please contact Mike Harrington at 
mike.harrington@iowaagriculture.gov or (515) 321-0031.  

 
Thank you, 
 

 
Travis Knight 
Regulatory Division Director 
Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship  
  
 
 

 


