Secretary Naig Announces 2020 Choose Iowa Calendar Contest Winners

Artwork submitted by 12 Iowa students featured in the 2020-2021 calendar

DES MOINES, Iowa (July 31, 2020) – Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig announced the winners of the 2020 Choose Iowa Calendar Contest today. Artwork from 12 Iowa kids (under the age of 18) is featured in this year’s Choose Iowa calendar. The winning artwork is selected based on creativity and the ability to connect agriculture products from the farm to everyday life. 

The 2020 Choose Iowa Calendar Contest winners include:

  • Emma Burzlatt, 14 – Maquoketa

  • Brynlee Carney, 11 – Centerville

  • Natalie Hughes, 15 – Ottumwa

  • Brianna Long, 11 – Centerville

  • Abraham Manley, 12 – Colfax

  • Bryn Petersen, 10 – Dike

  • Regan Richards, 10 – Ames

  • Taylor Rodeffer, 17 – Ottumwa

  • Ellie Scheidel, 12 – Ankeny

  • Gavin Sieren, 12 – Keota

  • Joe Stien, 7 – Watkins

  • Leo Wells, 10 – Cincinnati

Traditionally, Secretary Naig honors the winning artists during a ceremony at the Iowa State Fair. Winners of the 2020 Choose Iowa calendar contest are invited to participate in the award ceremony during the 2021 Iowa State Fair. The event is scheduled for Tuesday, Aug. 17, 2021, at 10 a.m. Additional details will be released as they become available.

“The Choose Iowa calendar contest is a great way for kids to express their creativity and learn more about agriculture,” said Secretary Naig. “I hope this activity gives kids a better understanding of how the work we do on the farm provides the food, clothing and fuel we use every day.”

A winning coloring page will be highlighted each month on the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship’s Facebook page. A digital version of the 2020 Choose Iowa Calendar can also be downloaded at



About the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship

Led by Secretary Mike Naig, the Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship serves the rural and urban residents that call Iowa home. Through its 12 diverse bureaus, the Department ensures animal health, food safety and consumer protection. It also promotes conservation efforts to preserve our land for the next generation. Learn more at

Media Contact:
Keely Coppess
Communications Director
(515) 326-1616