Secretary Naig to Recognize 24 Youth as Calendar Contest Winners at the Iowa State Fair

Student artists featured in the 2020 and 2021 Choose Iowa Coloring Calendars will be honored in the Ag Building

DES MOINES, Iowa (Aug. 10, 2021) – Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig will recognize 24 student artists during a ceremony at the 2021 Iowa State Fair. The 12 students who were featured in the 2020 Choose Iowa Coloring Calendar were invited to join the 12 students featured in the 2021 issue at this year’s recognition ceremony.

The 2021 calendar will be distributed to fairgoers at the Choose Iowa booth in the Agriculture Building and the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship booth in the Varied Industries Building.

Date: Tuesday, Aug. 17

Time: 10 a.m.

Location: Agriculture Building on the Iowa State Fairgrounds; Northside stage

The 2020 winners, listed alphabetically by last name, include:

  • Emma Burzlaff, Maquoketa
  • Brynlee Carney, Centerville
  • Natalie Hughes, Ottumwa
  • Brianna Long, Numa
  • Abraham Manley, Colfax
  • Bryn Petersen, Dike
  • Regan Richards, Ames
  • Taylor Rodeffer, Ottumwa
  • Ellie Scheidel, Ankeny
  • Gavin Sieren, Keota
  • Joe Stien, Watkins
  • Leo Wells, Cincinnati

The 2021 winners, listed alphabetically by last name, include:

  • Max Beck, Belle Plaine
  • Taya Belloma, Centerville
  • Aubrey Dowling, Missouri Valley
  • Hattie Funk, Anamosa
  • Summit Halvorsen, Centerville
  • Keelan Hoey, Belle Plaine
  • Chloe Hoffman, Indianola
  • Darris Lee Jr., Belle Plaine
  • Makenna Oliver, Centerville
  • Elijah Schuster, Shenandoah
  • Josh Schuster, Shenandoah
  • Miraylie Stuart, Walnut


About the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship

Led by Secretary Mike Naig, the Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship serves the rural and urban residents that call Iowa home. Through its 14 diverse bureaus, the Department ensures animal health, food safety and consumer protection. It also promotes conservation efforts to preserve our land and enhance water quality for the next generation. Learn more at

Media Contact:
Keely Coppess
Communications Director
(515) 326-1616