Naig Applauds Federal Legislation Sponsored by Grassley and Ernst to Support Iowa Livestock Producers

DES MOINES, Iowa (Aug. 5, 2021) - Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig issued the following statement today in response to the introduction of the Exposing Agricultural Trade Suppression (EATS) Act, co-sponsored by Iowa Senators Chuck Grassley and Joni Ernst, that would prohibit states from interfering with food production in other states.

“California politicians and activists have no business trying to write laws that apply to people outside of their borders, let alone Iowa farmers. Iowa farmers take great pride in caring for their animals and that’s why we’re able to consistently produce high-quality protein that feeds much of the world. Activist groups claim that California’s Proposition 12 is about protecting animal welfare but, in reality, it’s about limiting animal agriculture.

“Not only will these unnecessary and heavy-handed regulations severely restrict access to affordable food for consumers, especially those who are food insecure, they will also significantly increase costs and red tape for producers and small businesses.

“Our founders were clear when they wrote the Constitution; the federal government holds the power to regulate interstate commerce and trade, not individual states like California or New York.

“I want to thank Senators Grassley and Ernst for offering this legislation and having the backs of Iowa farmers by ensuring they continue to have unobstructed access to markets. I urge Congress to take this legislation up as soon as possible."


About the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship

Led by Secretary Mike Naig, the Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship serves the rural and urban residents that call Iowa home. Through its 14 diverse bureaus, the Department ensures animal health, food safety and consumer protection. It also promotes conservation efforts to preserve our land and enhance water quality for the next generation. Learn more at

Media Contact:
Don McDowell
Communications Director