Rob and Amy Glick from Cedar County Named Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award Winners

Award to be presented March 23 at the Mathews Building on the Cedar County Fairgrounds in Tipton

DES MOINES – Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig today announced that Rob and Amy Glick from Cedar County have been named the winners of the Gary Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award.

Naig will present the award to the family on Friday, March 23.   The ceremony will be at the Mathews Building on the Cedar County Fairgrounds, 1195 210th St. in Tipton.  The “Big Show,” which airs on both WHO and WMT radio, will broadcast live from the presentation from 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

“This award is an opportunity to highlight families like the Glick’s that do a great job caring for their animals, protecting the land while also serving their community,” Naig said. “I want to congratulate Rob and Amy on this award and thank them for all their work they do on the farm and in their community.”

The Glick family has a cow/calf operation and also raise row crops.

The family was nominated for the award by their neighbor Dan Schott.  In his nomination, Schott highlighted the family’s effort to protect the environment, saying “Rob and his family have been practicing no-till for decades and using cover crops for years.”

The Glick’s are also very active in the community with both the Farm Bureau and 4-H programs.  Rob also serves as a Soil and Water Conservation District Commissioner in Cedar County.

The Wergin Good Farm Neighbor award, made possible through the financial support of the Coalition to Support Iowa’s Farmers, recognizes Iowa livestock farmers who take pride in doing things right. This includes caring for the environment and their livestock and being good neighbors. It is named in memory of Gary Wergin, a long-time WHO Radio farm broadcaster who helped create the award.

Anyone interested in nominating their neighbor for the award should write a letter or e-mail explaining why their neighbor should receive this designation.  Applications may be submitted to the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, Attn: Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award, Henry A. Wallace Building, Des Moines, IA 50319 or emailed to


About the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship

Led by Secretary Mike Naig, the Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship serves the rural and urban residents that call Iowa home. Through its 14 diverse bureaus, the Department ensures animal health, food safety and consumer protection. It also promotes conservation efforts to preserve our land and enhance water quality for the next generation. Learn more at

Media Contact:
Don McDowell
Communications Director