Secretary Naig Honors Colleen Anderson with the Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award

Clay Co. poultry farmer receives the award for outstanding leadership in agriculture

DES MOINES, Iowa (April 23, 2019) – Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig presented the Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award to Colleen ‘Coke’ Anderson, a poultry farmer in Clay County. Naig will present the award on Friday, April 26.
“Coke Anderson has been a leader in the agriculture industry for many years,” said Naig. “She sets an example for others to follow by implementing conservation practices on her farm. Coke is involved in her community and is an innovative livestock producer, making her a deserving recipient of the Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award.”
Coke and her late husband, Marvin, were school teachers who raised two daughters on the farm. It was 270 acres of rolling terrain and in order to utilize the land properly, they made it a livestock farm. In 1975 they built a 50,000 bird egg layer building, at which time they created M & C Anderson Pullets and went from teaching to farming.

M & C Anderson Pullets were nominated for the Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award by Iowa Egg Council and Iowa Poultry Association Executive Director, Kevin Stiles. 

“Animal care and environmental stewardship is a foremost priority for Coke and M&C Anderson Pullets.” stated Stiles. “The Iowa Poultry Association and the Iowa Egg Council were proud to nominate Coke for this award.” 

The Andersons have owned land in Clay County for over 50 years. They have planted hundreds of trees both as windbreaks and to protect the steeper slopes from erosion. They also constructed grass waterways and four farm ponds to control runoff from heavy rains. 

Coke is actively involved in various leadership roles and organizations on a local, state and national level. Coke is a present board member of the Iowa Poultry Association. She was the first woman to be elected as chairman of the board of the American Egg Board in 1999. 

The Wergin Good Farm Neighbor award is made possible thanks to financial support of the Coalition to Support Iowa’s Farmers. This award recognizes Iowa livestock farmers who take pride in caring for the environment, their livestock and being good neighbors. It is named in memory of Gary Wergin, a long-time WHO Radio farm broadcaster who helped create the award.


About the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship

Led by Secretary Mike Naig, the Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship serves the rural and urban residents that call Iowa home. Through its 14 diverse bureaus, the Department ensures animal health, food safety and consumer protection. It also promotes conservation efforts to preserve our land and enhance water quality for the next generation. Learn more at

Media Contact:
Don McDowell
Communications Director