Secretary Naig Comments on EPA’s Delayed Final Approval of Midwest Governors’ Year-Round E15 Petition

EPA must now issue an emergency E15 waiver for the summer of 2024 

DES MOINES, Iowa (Feb. 22, 2024) – Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig released the following statement today after the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) belatedly announced a final rule authorizing year-round sales of E15, with additional delays, in Iowa, Illinois, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Ohio, South Dakota and Wisconsin: 

“EPA’s final rule authorizing year-round E15 sales in eight states will eventually help consumers save money at the pump, but this result would not have happened without the strong leadership and action of Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds and her fellow Midwestern governors. While we appreciate this decision, EPA’s final rule is long overdue, it does not apply until 2025, and it took a lawsuit led by Iowa Attorney General Brenna Bird to help force the action. EPA must now use its authority to issue an emergency E15 waiver for the summer of 2024 or Iowa drivers will needlessly experience higher fuel costs and fewer fuel choices beginning on June 1.”



About the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship

Led by Secretary Mike Naig, the Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship serves the rural and urban residents that call Iowa home. Through its 14 diverse bureaus, the Department ensures animal health, food safety and consumer protection. It also promotes conservation efforts to preserve our land and enhance water quality for the next generation. Learn more at

Media Contact:
Don McDowell
Communications Director