Renewable Fuel Infrastructure Program (RFIP)

The Iowa Renewable Fuels Infrastructure Program helps retail operators of motor fuel dispensing sites or fueling stations to convert their equipment to allow the expanded use of renewable fuels in Iowa. The program utilizes grant incentives to encourage these upgrades. 

Reimbursement can be for 50% of the costs for specific components of a project with a three year commitment required to sell certain renewable fuels. A five year commitment to store and sell renewable fuels and install certain equipment can result in up to 70% reimbursement for specific equipment or installation costs. Heat biodiesel terminal equipment and/or infrastructure can receive funding for up to $100,000 per project.

To date, the program has distributed or obligated more than $42.5 million to help fund 335 E85 dispensers/blenders, 362 biodiesel dispensers/blenders, 72 E15 projects, and 143 biodiesel terminals in Iowa.

The grant program is managed by Paul Ovrom, Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, 515-242-6239, paul.ovrom@iowaagriculture.gov.

Fuel Reports

Weekly Fuel Price Report

Historic Fuel Price Reports

2024 2023 2022 2021
2020 2019 2018 2017
2016 2015 2014 2013
2012 2011    

 


RFIP Application Information

Important Updates to the RFIP

 

2024 Renewable Fuels Marketing Award Winners

Secretary’s Ethanol Marketing Award – Hy-Vee

Secretary’s Biodiesel Marketing Award – Reif Oil Company

News Release

Renewable Fuels Marketing Award Nomination Form

 

Next Renewable Fuel Infrastructure Board Meeting

RFIP Board Meeting: August 7, 1:00 p.m. at the Wallace Building.

Application deadline for the next RFIP board meeting:  Due to recent legislative action that may impact the Renewable Fuel Infrastructure Program, the May 17th application deadline has been rescinded.  A new application deadline will be posted in the near future.

Submit applications to: renewablefuelgrants@Iowaagriculture.gov


Renewable Fuel Infrastructure Board Members

Vacant (IA BIODIESEL BOARD)

Steve Goodhue (INSURERS)
Knapp Tedesco Insurance
627 Main St
Ames, IA 50010
515-232-7060
steve@knapptedesco.com 
Term expires: 4/30/2029

Jennifer Carpenter (IA PETROLEUM EQUIPMENT CONTRACTORS ASSOCIATION)
Seneca Companies
4140 E 14th Street
Des Moines, IA 50313
Phone: 515-261-7750
Email: jcarpenter@senecaco.com
Term expires: 4/30/2025

Lisa Coffelt  (IA RENEWABLE FUELS ASSOCIATION)
5505 NW 88th Street #100
Johnston, Iowa 50131
Phone:  515-252-6249
Email: lcoffelt@iowarfa.org
Term expires: 4/30/2025

Kelsey Erickson (BIODIESEL PRODUCERS)
Chevron Renewable Energy Group
416 S Bell Ave.
Ames, IA 50010
Phone: 515-239-8176
Email: kelsey.erickson@outlook.com
Term expires 4/30/2026

Gary Langbein (IA FARM BUREAU)
2875 Otter Ave.
Sac City, IA 50583
Phone: 712-661-9780
Email: G.langbein@hotmail.com
Term expires: 4/30/2029

Karen Long (IA SOYBEAN ASSOCIATION)
Iowa Soybean Association
1225 SW Prairie Trail Parkway
Phone: 515-334-1028
Email: klong@iasoybeans.com
Term expires: 4/30/2025

Jeffrey Manthei (PETROLEUM RETAILERS)
1006 1ST Ave.
Manson, Iowa 50563    
Phone: 712-469-3708
Email: Jmanthei@growmarkfs.com
Term expires: 4/30/2026

Niki Mason (IA GROCERS)
Kum & Go
1459 Grand Ave
Des Moines, IA 50309
Phone:  515-457-6272
Email:  niki.mason@kumandgo.com
Term expires: 4/30/2026

John Maynes (PETROLEUM MARKETERS)
FUEL Iowa
10430 New York Ave. Suite F
Urbandale, IA 50322
Phone:  515-421-4043
Fax:  515-224-0502
Email:  john@fueliowa.com
Term expires: 4/30/2025

Kelly Nieuwenhuis (IA CORN GROWERS)
5910 – 440th Street
Primghar, IA 51245
Phone:  712-261-2700
Email:  channel2700@gmail.com
Term expires: 4/30/2026